Skip to content

A Few Images of The Protests in Iran

June 17, 2009

For those of you who are following the protests over massive election fraud in Iran, I am attaching a few photos I came across (in case you haven’t seen them already). 

 The Iranian Government has been trying really hard to stop news or images coming out of Iran but thanks to twitter, flickr, youtube and other websites we have been able to see the real magnitude of the uprising. It’s thrilling to witness how technology has changed the rules of the game and empowered so many people fighting for their rights in Iran. I didn’t have the time to go through many of the photos (there are thousands) but some of the photos are a testimony to the police/government brutality and some are plain gruesome. If you find a photo, link or a video worth sharing please leave a link to it in the comments sections.

 

 

 

 

Courtesy Washington Times

Courtesy Washington Times

 

Here is the link to the flickr account [Link]

Some twitter feeds you may want to check for frequent updates about the protests 

http://twitter.com/mousavi1388

http://twitter.com/StopAhmadi

http://twitter.com/persiankiwi

12 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2009 2:48 pm

    Do you know what. I didn’t even know about it. I’m reading and hearing about it first time on your blog. Just shows how out of touch i am with the outside world. 😐

    Anyway, It sounds and looks nasty. I didn’t even know such things existed in the world. 😡

    • nitwitnastik permalink*
      June 19, 2009 8:21 am

      That’s OK. The incidents in Iran happened over the weekend and is now continuing through the week. It’s great that the people of Iran has been so adamant and not cowered down under threats from the regime. I am not sure how different mousavi will be from his predecessor but atleast the people of iran should get a fair vote. My Iranian friends tell me that in Iran, Mousavi had 80% popular support as indicated by polls. So the election loss for him with such a huge margin was clear case of election fraud.

      • RGB permalink
        June 19, 2009 10:18 am

        I agree. Mousavi might not be too different but the mandate of the people should be respected.

        Imagining President Mousavi.

        • nitwitnastik permalink*
          June 19, 2009 2:56 pm

          Thanks for sharing RGB. Yes, with the real ruler being the Islamic clerics, there’s very little hope for change no matter who wins 😦

  2. June 18, 2009 12:59 pm

    OMG!!!

  3. RGB permalink
    June 18, 2009 10:10 pm

    Some more gruesome photos indicative of the brutality.

    Iran Protests: Most Violent Photos.

    • nitwitnastik permalink*
      June 19, 2009 8:29 am

      Thanks RGB. Some of them were truly gruesome. I have seen some videos which were just awful. I don’t know how much all these are going to help though given that the real power lies with the Iranian Supreme Council. It won’t be a true democracy as long as there’s an Islamic dictator.

  4. June 19, 2009 10:29 am

    Hi Nitwit!

    So, I did manage to miss your posts, yet again 😦

    But now that won’t happen. Added you to ‘I recommend list’ and also to my the list of blogs I follow. 🙂 Actually, I’d totally forgotten that I’d not added you, otherwise yours figures quite on the top among the blogs I enjoy and recommend.

    I too had just vaguely heard something was wrong in Iran. But now I know what it is. Thanks!

    Might gather some more info on the issue and comment further.

    TC.

    • nitwitnastik permalink*
      June 19, 2009 10:54 pm

      Thanks Ketan for the kind words and adding this blog to your blogroll. Yes, I think as opposed to the US media, Indian media may not be covering it as extensively (although that’s a guess). As I mentioned earlier, I have my doubts about the outcome, especially when khameini himself is supporting Ahmadinejad. And even if Mousavi comes to power, I doubt if anything is going to change soon. You may want to take a look at the links RGB has posted in the comments section.

  5. June 19, 2009 12:23 pm

    😦 I had a very slight clue but not to THIS extent..this is gruesome.

    the road to democracy is always destined to be bloody?

    • nitwitnastik permalink*
      June 19, 2009 11:03 pm

      Yep, although I doubt if Iran can be called a democracy. Not with the ayatollah being the true ruler 😦

  6. October 1, 2009 12:33 am

    Man. I lìsten. Amrican spen lots of money for make angry peoples, for making groups in iran. Dived and rol l. And down economy. After same vatinam, midway, korea, afghanisan, iraq, now try to iran and pakistan. Ya around the world know . American get contract for peace.

Leave a Reply

