Skip to content

Deepak Chopra : A New Age Shaman

July 9, 2009

A couple of excellent videos by Ajita Kamal at Nirmukta.com exposing one of television’s most famous new-age gurus and conman – Dr. Deepak Chopra

Total viewing time (~12 mins)

Part 1:

Part 2:

Here’s the link to the original post [Link]

19 Comments leave one →
  1. July 9, 2009 9:52 pm

    Honestly, I don’t know much about Deepak Chopra and his teachings, but going by the questions his readers used to ask in The Sunday Times of India, and ‘answers’ he used to dole out, I can make a fairly accurate guess. Reading those QnA had a become a regular feature with me! They used to be the most entertaining things in the paper. Some questions would be to the effect–‘that’s the weight of the soul in gram and volume in cubic centimeter?’, and well to my utter shock, he’d venture out to ‘answer’ *those* questions on almost similar terms!!!

    Too bad, I can’t view these videos.

    BTW, when you’d last visited my blog, I’d have also wanted you to read my post–‘Are (a few) religious leaders atheists?’, which I thought would interest you. But of course, if you find time šŸ™‚

    Have a great day!

  2. July 10, 2009 11:14 am

    need to watch the videos tmrw:)
    will be back

    I dont like him much though:)

  3. July 15, 2009 2:39 am

    He is such a loser šŸ™‚

  4. July 28, 2009 9:23 am

    My father’s got some Deepak Chopra books (I keep telling him that out of respect for his own profession he should burn them). They consist of pages upon pages that convey nothing at all and yet are meant to make him look like Socrates reborn. Guy’s a quack.

  5. August 6, 2009 12:15 am

    i just hate him, never read his books, but all this kind of people are obvious cons

  6. August 29, 2009 3:06 pm

    Hey NN,
    Haven’t seen any posts from you in a while. Hope things are fine.
    Cheers!
    Ajita.

    • nitwitnastik permalink*
      November 4, 2009 10:15 am

      Hi Ajita, Thanks for the concern. I am doing well, thank you. I have been keeping busy and have not been able to spend time writing or reading blogs . Hope to be able to return when I get some time. Will try to catch you on Nirmukta. Till then take care. NN

  7. September 24, 2009 6:18 pm

    Where are you?

    • nitwitnastik permalink*
      November 4, 2009 10:14 am

      Hi IHM, Thanks for the concern. I am doing well. I have been keeping extremely busy and have not been able to spend time on this blog or on reading blogs . Since blogging has always been a hobby, it takes a back seat when other pressing matters take up my time. Hope to be able to return when things become more ‘normal’. Will try to catch you on your blog sometime. Till then take care. NN

  8. NAge cheaters asskicker permalink
    October 12, 2009 11:25 am

    Deepak is just another clown who makes bucks on human stupidity. i wonder, when this foolish fashion which is spreading from the states to the rest of the world ends.

  9. SRao permalink
    November 2, 2009 7:11 pm

    Hi,

    First time visiting and commenting here.
    Your blog is so in my league – being an agnostic myself!
    I hope to catch up some more on your posts soon.

    Don’t know much about Deepak Chopra, but my “unbiased” initial thoughts on those 2 clips that I viewed is that perhaps some of his comments were taken out of context?

    I am a scientist myself, but tend to look at the so-called spiritual (not religious) domain as unknown/to be determined until I have explored it at-least to an extent, and sensed some credibility there. Who knows he might have a point, or not, but at-least I tried.

    Just some random thoughts that I wanted to share.

    Thanks for letting me comment on your blog!

  10. January 5, 2010 6:02 am

    What has been up? Long time, no see. Yeah, I presume you are busy. I went on a hiatus and never came back flly to my blog (although have started a couple of other blogs later; one of my photography, and another of my comics).

    I remember you warned me that people who go on hiatuses form blogs never return. I promised I would. Turns out you were correct. But then you have lived up to your prophesy yourself. šŸ™‚

    Anyway, best of luck for everything. Hope to see you around.

    • nitwitnastik permalink*
      January 6, 2010 8:19 pm

      Hi Siddharth, Thanks for the concern. Yes, its true that I decided to take a break. Maintaining a regular blog was getting to be too difficult given work pressures. So decided to take a break. Although I do want to keep writing as that is the only way I can counter the non-sense around me. I need to find a strategy which works and yet doesn’t compromise my work schedule.

      Will be back for sure.

      Regards and a Happy New 2010

      -NN

  11. July 9, 2010 9:18 am

    hi, i want to ask you one thing: what makes you an agnostic? I mean, are you still unsure about the existence/ absence of God… and looking for answers? Isnt it so clear that there is none?

    Or do you feel that atheism is too ‘extreme’?

    • nitwitnastik permalink*
      July 13, 2010 12:14 pm

      I used to be an agnostic when I started this blog but have been transformed now to a more atheistic viewpoint. Haven’t had the time to change the title of this blog though.

  12. October 21, 2010 3:22 am

    Make no mistake, Deepak Chopra has a roaring business. Yes, that’s what it is. Tons of money coming in. His books are reasonably priced, on par with other similar books, but that is only a hook to reel you in. He makes his millions from his corporate and other courses. He charges between $25,000 to $70,000 for a lecture or series of lectures. It is a commercial, money spinning business in the guise of quack spirituality, don’t be fooled.

  13. Sam Hampton permalink
    June 7, 2012 7:02 am

    Three YouTube videos an Atheist, with a sense of humor, may enjoy

  14. Ira permalink
    December 21, 2016 12:42 pm

    What is the purpose of this blog? “I am very clever. I giggle at all those who don’t think like me. Ridicule runs through my body like blood runs in other people”

Trackbacks

  1. Celebritylife.org

Leave a comment