Skip to content

Blessed By Lord Shiva

February 24, 2009

Imagine for a second, the original creator of ‘Twinkle Twinkle Little Star’ attributing the success of that nursery rhyme to the blessings of Lord Jesus. Sounds ludicrous, right ? Well then, we have just the two geniuses for you.

Recently, Sukhwinder Singh and Vijay Prakash, two of the playback singers of the song Jai Ho (from Slumdog Millionaire) attributed the success of the song to the gracious blessings of Lord Shiva and Goddess Chamundeshwari respectively. NDTV and Times of India reports.

Well-known singer Sukhwinder, who has sung Jai ho from the film Slumdog, feels that Jai ho’s popularity and victory is blessed by lord Shiva because it’s not a song but a prayer to the almighty.

 

But, so are all bhajans, hymns and sufi music. What’s so captivating about this song that Lord Shiva found it so worthy of his blessing? Hold on, I know, I know !! It just so happens that the song was written and put to music by two extremely talented Muslims – Gulzar and A.R. Rahman – who after allegedly ditching Allah, decided to write and produce a song in glory of Lord Shiva.Isn’t it?   And, how could the ultra-secular Lord Shiva not be flattered by such sublime devotion of two famous non-Hindus? How could he pass up this once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to gift-wrap his heavenly blessings and courier it all the way from Mt. Kailasa to LA ?  If yesterday’s award ceremony is any evidence, he couldn’t. Sukhwinder should consider himself lucky that lord shiva’s bull wasn’t on sick leave that day. I shudder to think what would have happened had lord shiva’s bull needed a quick check-up at the vets. 

 

Courtesy : exoticindiart.com

Courtesy : exoticindiart.com

 

 

Our genius then went on to claim

 “…. Jai ho is not just a song. It connects me spiritually to the Almighty. It has spiritual connection. I was confident that the song will win Oscar because you know the Oscar award ceremony has taken place on this spiritual day of Mahashivratri. “

Ah! There it is – a double whammy !! If the shameless flattery didn’t do it, the auspicious day thingy surely would. After all, Lord Shiva is especially weak and soft-hearted on Mahashivratri and freely distributes shiny little Oscars to anyone  who comes calling at his heavenly abode. In’t it?  I just hope he doesn’t pass out due to an overdose of unadulterated flattery or feels the need to pump buckets of insulin. 

 Perhaps Mr. Singh does not realize that the final winners are not tabulated/decided on the day of the ceremony. And, if it had already been decided, how would Lord Shiva’s blessing change the result again? Ah! It must be lord Shiva working his miracles. Who knows, maybe he bribed the tabulators with boat-loads of marijuana to clinch it for slumdog?  Oh ! you didn’t know that ? Nothing is impossible for Shiva. He is the lord of the world. Praise the Lord !!

Sharing the reasons behind missing the opportunity to be present at the Oscars, Sukhwinder said, “I was supposed to get a performance visa from Fox but they botched up and it delayed. Anyway this is not something bothering me much. I am very happy and satisfied that lord Shiva has showed his love and we achieved.”

Oh. So Shiva first shows him his love by giving him an oscar but somehow botches up the visa. Wow !! That must be extremely thoughful of him.

What was that again? He didn’t botch it up but the idiots at Fox did? Oh ! I am sure, that is exactly how it happened.

How smart of Lord Shiva. Take the credit for others’ effort but blame it on the evil Americans when the visa gets delayed. Praise the Lord !!

“…So the combination has done what it was destined to do.”

And which God fixed the destiny of Rahman and Gulzar? Must be that ever elusive Allah, I am sure (even though he was slighted in favor of Shiva).

In fact, given this weird tendency of gods to bless anyone who sings about them on railway platforms, I have come up with a brilliant plan to help anyone win the Oscars. Want to listen to it? No, No, it’s not optional. You have to. Ok, here it goes.

First. Include at least one person from every religion in your movie. Second. Focus your camera on any living creature at a train station.  Yeah yeah, anything. Heck, it can be a cow chewing Indian tobacco for all I care (remember, Gods have a bias for living creatures – with them having souls and all). Third. Ask everyone to start singing prayers to their respective Gods as loudly as they can and start recording.

And, voila !! There you have it. With so many Gods blessing the movie, I don’t think anyone has the you-know-what to stop the movie from winning an Oscar. Isn’t it brilliant ? [Thank You] [Thank You]

  

OK now, seriously. I am happy and proud that Slumdog won so many Oscars on Sunday and although I am not familiar with Vijay Prakash, I like Sukhwinder and his songs (who can forget ‘chhaiya chaaiya’) and consider him a good singer. But, when people like him ( who enjoy celebrity status in India) publicly make such moronic statements, I wonder what have they been smoking  (which is not that unlikely, given lord Shiva’s addiction to marijuana).

Do celebrities in the Indian film and music industry ever tire of attributing higher powers or unnatural causes to the success of a film or a song (needless to say, ONLY when it is successful) ? Going by such public statements – probablyyy not.  It seems the final contender of such a credit always oscillates between God, Vaastu or Numerology – whoever can bump, nudge, push or shove the others and reach the celebrity gossip column first.

So for once, ladies and gentlemen, can we give credit to whom it’s truly due? Kudos Slumdog Team. You really did it !!

 

 

************************************************

Update and Correction : A reader (Thanks Gaurav) pointed out that Gulzar is not a muslim and I verified that he is right. Gulzar was born a Sikh. My sincere apoligies for taking a name for granted and not checking my facts before publishing. Goes to prove, what my friends always claim, how ignorant I am about the Hindi film industry. I will leave the error on my post as a reminder to me to check the facts before publishing. However, that fact that Gulzar is a Sikh and Freida Pinto is a Catholic goes to prove that my brilliant plan may have some truth to it after all 🙂

 

 

——— @@@———–@@@————–

Click to read a random post from this blog

——— @@@———–@@@————–

30 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2009 9:00 am

    Yes and Lord Shiva also personally told those thousands of people dying of hunger, thirst, some deadly disease and generally suffering of other things (there is rarely a shortage of unhappiness in the universe)- “Sorry guys, cannot answer your prayers today, gotta be in LA, Sukhwinder’s song needs to win them Oscars”

  2. February 24, 2009 10:20 am

    Am blog rolling you

    • nitwitnastik permalink*
      February 24, 2009 1:16 pm

      @Allytude

      Thanks , I will do the same.

  3. February 25, 2009 2:45 am

    yep kudos to the slumdog team.. but actually the “moronic statements” by sukhwinder only reflect the general perception of many indians like him about their success. Indians always have liked to attribute their success to heavenly powers.. its surely time for a change and some senseful introspection into our lives but actually the point remains, there’s no harm in recognizing something heavenly for their success; it actually keeps their faith in god etc alive.. quite senseless to us though… nice humorous work..:)

    • nitwitnastik permalink*
      February 25, 2009 7:22 am

      @Anurag,
      Thanks for the compliment. I think you are under-estimating the power of superstition. When people depend on higher powers for success, they become too dependent on them and that may lead to the belief that they can achieve success without hard work. No, not everyone will fall into that trap but many do ..and there lies the problem. Moreover attributing the reason for anything to higher powers is a sort of intellectual laziness IMHO.

  4. February 25, 2009 11:33 am

    My friends and I once narrowly escaped the blasts that took placed in Delhi last year. Later, one of the deluded friends of mine, knowing I’m an atheist and trying to get me to believe, said, “Thank God for saving us”.

    I replied, “Yes, thank God for saving us and not the 170 who were killed”.

    • nitwitnastik permalink*
      February 25, 2009 12:47 pm

      @Siddharth

      I am glad to hear that you were not hurt. The problem with believers is that they ignore other possibilities..they jump to any conclusion that will help them prove the existence of God…I once wrote a cheeky post on the difference between our thought processes here

      How to tell an Atheist from a Theist ?

  5. Gaurav Khanna permalink
    February 26, 2009 3:05 am

    Well Gulzar is not a muslim, his actual name is Sampooran Singh Kalra, for reference – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gulzar_(lyricist)

    • nitwitnastik permalink*
      February 26, 2009 6:58 am

      Thanks a lot Gaurav for pointing that out. Mea culpa for missing that fact. Bad mistake. I should have checked. I will correct it in my post . Btw he is sikh by religion. That’s even better – 2 Gods are better than 3 – although sikhism believes in a universal god who is non-anthropomorphic . I also realized that even Jesus may have had a hand in it as Freida Pinto – the actress of slumdog and who danced in that song is a catholic. 🙂

  6. February 26, 2009 9:02 pm

    Sampooran Singh Gulzar is his name, full name rather than apologizing you could have changed it in the post 😀
    But who am I to tell you 🙂
    I couldn’t figure out whether you were against Muslims, Sukhwinder, Mahadev or The movie in the first half but in the second half it turned out to be a hilarious post.
    njoy, Life is Beautiful…..

    • nitwitnastik permalink*
      February 26, 2009 10:08 pm

      @Tarun

      Yes, I could have changed it but keeping the error was deliberate on my part to remind myself of my intellectual laziness – that of assuming a person with a muslim sounding name may not be a muslim. Just as I am not kind to others for their intellectual laziness, why should I be kind to myself for the same mistake. And what better way to teach myself a lesson than making myself feel embarrased and publicly humiliated once in a while ..does wonders for a person 😉

  7. February 26, 2009 10:52 pm

    So u feeling embarrassed?? I guess it should have been over by now, par chalo keep learning 🙂

  8. March 2, 2009 9:56 am

    Hey this thing about which god were involved reminds me of this piece he Onion carried about the gods fighting among themselves over a plane crash or something. Will look for it!

    • nitwitnastik permalink*
      March 2, 2009 10:34 am

      LOL !! Please do send me the link

  9. siva permalink
    September 23, 2009 9:45 am

    its sukhwinders belief….lets leave it at that…

  10. marv permalink
    October 6, 2009 3:43 am

    hahahaha funny….but spare lord shiva from ur ridicule..let mr singh be the focus of ur ridicule

    but funny monolouge though

  11. bhajans permalink
    October 24, 2009 3:11 am

    ATH SHREE SHIVASTAKAM,LINGASTAKAM,RUDRASTAM

    DOWNLOAD SHIVASTAKAM , LINGASTAKAM , RUDRASTAKAM , MADHURASTAKAM AND OTHER BHAJANS FROM http://www.bhajans.tk

    THESE WILL GIVE PEACE TO YOUR MIND
    PLEASE LISTEN IT REGULARLY AND SEND IT TO YOUR FRIENDS AND FAMILY FOR ETERNITY
    OM NAMAAH SHIVAAY.
    RADHE RADHE

  12. Ady Mat permalink
    February 3, 2010 2:32 am

    I think you should cut your crap about lord Shiva. He is not asking you anything to do for him. Why don’t you find something else to spew poison about…

  13. Ady Mat permalink
    February 3, 2010 2:35 am

    I think you people need some space in hell.

  14. December 8, 2010 1:23 pm

    I FEEL SAD FOR YOU GUYS…….YOU GUYS HAVE SUCH A SHORT VISIBILITY. IT IS YOUR IGNORANCE THAT YOU QUESTION “LORD SHIVA”. IN MY LIFE I HAVE SEEN HIS BLESSINGS. I, AN ORPHAN….TODAY AM A KNOWN FACE (CHECK OUT MY WEBSITE http://WWW.DIVADIYA.COM). IT IS BECAUSE OF LORD SHIVA.

    I HAVE A LOT TO SAY, A LOT TO TELL……..BUT NO ONE CAN SHOW LIGHT TO THE BLIND!!!

    I FIRSTLY, FELT LIKE ABUSING YOU GUYS!! BUT MY FAITH AND LORD SHIVA’S TEACHINGS DONT ALLOW ME TO DO SO.

    ONE CAN READ ENGLISH ONLY IF HE HAS KNOWLEDGE OF ENGLISH ALPHABETS……LIKEWISE, YOU CAN UNDERSTAND LORD SHIVA ONLY IF YOU KNOW HIM. BUT YOU GUYS DONT KNOW YOURSELF……..HOW CAN YOU KNOW THE SUPREME ONE.

    WARM REGARDS-
    DIYA SHARMA
    http://WWW.DIVADIYA.COM
    ANCHOR/MODEL/ACTOR

    • nitwitnastik permalink*
      December 17, 2010 6:18 pm

      Diya, I must say I am a bit flattered that a celebrity like you cared to comment on my inconsequential blog. Thanks for your comments and for showing restraint in harming or abusing me. Btw, I am curious what lessons in non-violence did you learn from Shiva. The non-violent lessons from a deity who was instrumental in beheading his own son must be interesting, no?

      If you ever care to look up (which I know you won’t – given the tendency of confirmation bias found in most believers) you will find that some of the richest people in the world ( Bill Gates, Warren Buffett) are atheists and not devotees of Shiva. Some of the most celebrated Nobel laureates and scientists are atheists and not devotees of Shiva. Some of the top actors, models and Olympic athletes are atheists and not devotees of Shiva. Check this out –
      http://www.celebatheists.com/wiki/Category:Atheist

      So how do you explain the success of these people. To what God or deity do you attribute their success?

      • December 18, 2010 11:11 am

        ell….I am not surprised at your ignorance towards god.

        Let me tell you about Gita. The most celebrated text. In Gita Krishna tells Arjuna that there are several ways to reach me. One can reach me through:

        -Bhakti yog
        -Gyan Yog
        -Karm Yog
        -Dhyan Yog

        Thus, Even if a man dznt believe in GOD (The word GOD came from the veda’s. It is an english translation of Brahamma-Generator or Creator, Vishnu-Operator, Mahesh-Distroyer. GOD-GENERATOR, OPERATOR, DISTROYER). He is still a follower of God when he dz his duty or karma or obtains wisdom. Belief in God…or not believing in him will not make any difference to him.

        I ask you……why in this world some things are not explainable?? why man could not understand the reason for death. what is soul?? and many more!!! The famous psychiatrist Dr.Brain weiss was an atheist…he never believed in god, never believed in rebirth. But during his study he came across cases that completely changed his view. Today he believes in God, in rebirth and practices regression therapy in order to treat his patients. He has written books like- Only love is real, many lives many masters etc.

        Since you have quoted names of famous people…..I too would like to answer you keeping the same in mind.

        ISAAC NEWTON- The man who gave us the theory of gravitation, mathematician astronomer,Law of motion etc said-

        “I see God as the masterful creator whose existence could not be denied in the face of the grandeur of all creation. Gravity explains the motions of the planets, but it cannot explain who set the planets in motion. God governs all things and knows all that is or can be done.This most beautiful system of the sun, planets, and comets, could only proceed from the counsel and dominion of an intelligent Being. […] This Being governs all things, not as the soul of the world, but as Lord over all; and on account of his dominion he is wont to be called “Lord God” or “Universal Ruler”. […] The Supreme God is a Being eternal, infinite, [and] absolutely perfect.Opposition to godliness is atheism in profession and idolatry in practice. Atheism is so senseless and odious to mankind that it never had many professors ”

        ALBERT EINSTEIN-Physicist, The man who gave us LIGHT said-

        “A knowledge of the existence of something we cannot penetrate, of the manifestations of the profoundest reason and the most radiant beauty – it is this knowledge and this emotion that constitute the truly religious attitude; in this sense, and in this alone, I am a deeply religious man. (Albert Einstein)”

        SHAKESPEARE- The man who gave english a new definition said-

        In the name of God, I William Shakespeare…God be praised, do make and ordain this, my last will and testament in manner and form following. That is to say, first I commend my soul into the hands of God my Creator, hoping and assuredly believing, through the merits of The all mighty, my savior, to be made partaker of eternal life, and my body to the earth whereof it is made. (Rouse, 1985, P. 182)

        CHARLES DICKENS the man who gave us some of the finest text said-

        Nothing is discovered without God’s intention and assistance, and I suppose every new knowledge of His works that is conceded to man to be distinctly a revelation by which men are to guide themselves. I have seen his powers with naked eyes……

        TOM CRUISE- The man who melts a thousand heart says-

        “GOD keeps me going. I have seen and felt his powers. Maybe it is my unconditional faith in GOD that makes me THE TOM CRUISE. I recently have started reading more about god but know that I can never know him……….I will strive to know him. Guess that will bring me closer to the one responsible for who I am”

        BARAC K OBAMA- the ultimate. President of the US said-

        “I am not GOD…..please don’t do that!! Do not call me GOD. I am just a very small part of his supreme being……….he is infinite!! I am just playing my role which has been ordered by him. I am an instrument of God through which he acts.”

        AMITABH BACHCHAN- The legend of Indian cinema

        GOD…..well it is a very big word for me to define. GOD is shiva!!! I have been in the mouth of death and came back. One reason is the whole nation prayed for me. He is the ultimate power….thats why when a case can not be handled by a doctor he says “ab dava nahin dua kaam karegi”. I have immense faith in prayers. This may sound odd but……god has held me every time I was about to fall. I have seen miracles happen.
        (HOW RIGHTLY SAID BY AMITABH……..WHEN NOTHING WORKS, GOD DZ)

        SHAHRUKH KHAN- you know who he is….i have a show with him on the 20th dec

        “I am amused when people reject faith and god. Actually, I have always been a person who has gone by scientific facts. I would love to ask an atheist why green looks green……….no chemical combinations can explain that except god. GOD starts when explanation ends. ”

        SHAHRUKHS QUOTE INSTIGATES ME TO QUESTION YOU…….

        we know that the earth is round…..but why is it round????

        we know a child is born when sperm and ovum fertilize but what is the sperm????

        we know that the earth goes round but why dz it go round??
        why death till date is not controlled by man???

        how will you explain rebirth?? Marilyn monore is reborn….and it has been testified, explain!!!

        you know about electricity….it can neither be created nor destroyed!!! but where did electricity come from??

        WELL THAT IS JUST IN GENERAL ABOUT GOD………….AS FOR LORD SHIVA!! I WILL ANSWER NEXT TIME. I HAVE A SHOW WITH SHAHRUKH AND HAVE TO BE UP. THATS MY WORK….MY KARAMA. REMEMBER I AM PURSUING MY PHD IN RELIGIOUS THEOLOGY. AND YOU WILL BE SURPRISED BUT HAVE READ THE GITA, BIBLE, QURAN, VEDAS, PURANS. TRY TO LOG ON TO A SITE CALLED CYBERMATT…………UL BE MORE AWARE BOUT MY RESEARCH ON RELIGION. TILL THEN. GOD BLESS

        • nitwitnastik permalink*
          December 24, 2010 7:54 am

          Thanks Diya for making me laugh so hard. 🙂 😀

          we know that the earth is round…..but why is it round????

          we know a child is born when sperm and ovum fertilize but what is the sperm????

          we know that the earth goes round but why dz it go round??
          why death till date is not controlled by man???

          Really, Diya? I have to explain these now? Questions like these are more to be expected from mature 8 yr-olds than from intelligent adults who claim to be pursuing PhDs ? Really !!?? 😀

          OK, so you did not see it fit to reply my question honestly. Yet you wrote up a reply which not only engaged in straw-men tactics, name calling and ad-hominems but also misinterpreted what I said and included so many logical fallacies and factual errors that it will take too much time for me to point out. Not to mention that your utter and dismal lack of knowledge in science leaves much to be desired. Have you ever tried finding out the answers or scientific explanations to your questions ? I don’t think so. Even though all you had to do was look up google.

          To name the most prominent logical fallacy in your response is that of “Appeal to Authority“, “Appeal to Belief“. Just because some famous people said something about God does not make it necessarily true. Just because 99% of people believe something to be true does not make it necessarily so. 700 years ago, 99.99999% people believed that the earth was flat. Now we know that it is not. Btw, did you know Einstein was an agnostic/atheist ? I don’t think you have read anything written by him. I hope you get to read some of his essays on Religion and God rather than quote-mine him. And No, Einstein did not “give us light” as you pointed out !! 😀

          Can you give me some solid evidence of the Law of Karma or of the soul. I do not believe in Karma, nor in rebirth not in the existence of the soul. They are just mere guesswork and conjecture. Just because some religious book, written by ignorant bronze-age people, who did not know any better, hypothesized about the soul or of karma does not make it true. Just because someone says or makes up credible stories about rebirth does not make it true. I can pretend to be a reborn avatar of any number of saints – people about whom I know a lot – but that wouldn’t make it true. Let me guess you probably even believe that the Ramayana and Mahabharata are pieces of Indian history, in spite of the fact that there is not a shred of historical evidence about the existence of Rama or Krishna. They are no real than Spiderman or Superman. Figments of some very creative story-teller’s fertile imagination.

          Btw, what makes you think that I have not read hindu religious texts like the Bhagavad Gita, the vedas or upanishads or do not understand it? Wrong assumptions , much? At least I read the entire thing and I try thinking for myself instead of parroting other people’s opinion. Maybe, we can have a more polite and intelligent conversation someday – the day you can be honest with yourself and think for yourself – but given your response, I doubt I will live to see that day.

          Cheers and all the best with your career.

    • Anshu permalink
      March 28, 2012 10:22 pm

      I agree with you 100% u can not give eyes to blind people. People like sukhwinder Singh,gulzar they have seen heights in life n seen many things they giving credit to lord shiva bcoz they felt his presence.these morons have not achieved anything but can comment crap in blogs.I just want to say these guys half knowledge is always dangerous n if u have not experienced something keep ur mouth shut.

      • nitwitnastik permalink*
        August 17, 2012 8:43 am

        Maybe someday when you can collect your thoughts and express it as a single coherent comment ( I do not have high hopes though, especially from followers of sai baba) , I will find a few minutes to reply to your rant.

  15. December 24, 2010 8:58 am

    then tell me….im an 8 year old. tell me why the earth is round, why not flat, tringle or square. please reply…………lookin forward

    • nitwitnastik permalink*
      December 26, 2010 9:46 am

      OK, I don’t know if your question is rhetorical or not. But, I will assume for a moment, in good faith, that you are actually curious about this answer and seriously trying to learn, instead of trying to trap me ( like I have seen some religious fundies do) with some follow up question that does not make sense.

      First a correction – the earth is not actually round or spherical. It is elliptical in shape ( due to centrifugal forces), although for most general purposes, we can assume it to be spherical. And, the short answer to it being spherical is – gravity (now please don’t ask me “who” created gravity without first answering “who” created “God”?).

      When the earth was formed billions of years ago from a huge rotating cloud of gas and dust ( mostly Helium, Hydrogen and some heavy elements), the gravitational forces of the particles that made up the earth pulled other particles at the same distance with equal force. That meant that particles at the centre would attract particles around it and at the same distance from it with equal force. To visualize this, try imagining a particle at the center of a square, a triangle and a circle with particles all around it. Which shape do you think will be able to pull all other particles equidistant from it with equal force. Yes, when visualized in 2-dimensions it is a circle. So in 3-D it is a sphere. Incidentally a sphere is also the shape that holds the most mass for the least surface area (think soap bubbles). Now if it had been a triangle or square, the gravitational forces would not be equal in all directions and ultimately the force of gravity would have changed these shapes to a sphere. In fact that is why all planets and celestial bodies are spherical in shape.

      Ok so that is a short and simplified answer to your question. If you want a more detailed answer you can always search on the internet. If you have enough time, I would highly recommend Carl Sagan’s documentary – Cosmos.

  16. Raj S. permalink
    November 13, 2011 6:15 am

    Gulzar is a sikh not a Muslim.

  17. February 1, 2012 11:43 am

    A very small request to all those strong headed people…
    We all live in a society where each one of us goes through different set of experiences, sufferings, joys, sorrows…… Each moment…
    Therefore each one has his own perspective over each experience… and his exerience can be as real or as pure or practical as yours…
    Since u hav nt experience wat other may have… One has no right to criticize others opinions or beliefs. Jst respect it. N wait Til ur turn comes to witness something so unique.

  18. September 21, 2012 8:39 pm

    Fantastic site you have here but I was curious about if you knew
    of any user discussion forums that cover the same topics talked about in this
    article? I’d really love to be a part of community where I can get advice from other experienced individuals that share the same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Appreciate it!

Leave a comment